Phone: 918-245-5756
Home contact us


Playground Safety Poster Contest

"The annual Playground Safety Awareness Poster Contest gives Oklahoma elementary students across the state an opportunity to learn about and become involved in safety. The ODL, ODE, and the ORPS co-sponsor the contest to promote playground safety.  The ODL will continue its efforts to provide safe playgrounds for the children of Oklahoma"

Loyd Field, Oklahoma Labor Commissioner

"Nothing is more important than the safety and well-being or our children.  I greatly appreciate Labor Commissioner Loyd Fields, Superintendent of Public Education Sandy Garrett and leaders of the Oklahoma Recreation and Park Society for co-sponsoring the Playground Safety Poster Contest for Oklahoma's Elementary School children.  Through this initiative, we can help remind everyone of the importance of well-maintained recreational areas and ensure that our kids have a safe place to play."   

Governor Brad Henry

"I am proud to be a part of a Society who has generous members that provide leadership and funds to award elementary school age children for their artistic efforts to promote the message of playground safety."

Patty Dixon, Executive Director, Oklahoma Recreation and Park Society

Awards Ceremony was April 21, 2009.  Posters were displayed at the State Capitol from 9 am - 12 noon on the First Floor North Hallway.  

Grand Prize, $1000.00  bond winner     Rachel Hackney, Moore

Three age groups

First Place,  $500.00 bond      Cade Christie, Welling      Kyndle Kirby,  Cleveland    Mara Hunziker,  Stillwater

Second Place, $250.0 bond    Kayla Pyle, Nobel      Plizia Bishop,  Stilwell    Brady Moore,  Broken Arrow

Third Place, $100.00 bond      Latorie Alexander,  Muskogee   Morgan Self,  Oklahoma City    Sandra Duarte, Tulsa

Fourth Place, $50.00 bond     Jerome Kliest,  Stilwell   Brooklyn James, Dibble   Geneva Mendoza,  Stilwell

Firth Place, $25.00 bond        Divyen Patel, Tulsa      Braden Boyer,  Broken Arrow      Kaylee Vaughan, Stilwell  

Honorable Mention                  Jacob Wood, Waurika     Tatianna Mendoza, Stilwell    Dale Hammer,  Stilwell    Aaron Matheson,  Glencoe



Rachel Hackney, Grand Prize Winner with Oklahoma Labor Commissioner, Lloyd Fields


Home  //  Commercial Members  //  Other Members  //  Meeting Schedule  //  Reports  //  Conference  //  Workshops  //  Contact us